KEY: Knowledge Empowers You

Image copyright  Ivelin Radkov, via BigStockPhoto

Image copyright Ivelin Radkov, via BigStockPhoto

Are you old enough to remember Schoolhouse Rock?

I am. My kids watched it on Saturday mornings, and I watched it with them. Those animated segments taught math, English, (the “Conjunction Junction” song still gets stuck in my head sometimes, LOL), and other things, even the Preamble of the Constitution.

Recently, I asked people who’d watched Schoolhouse Rock back in the seventies if they learned anything from it, and everyone had (including me…I learned how a bill proceeds through Congress).

Which brings me to ask another question…if they were an effective teaching/learning tool, why were they discontinued? Especially in the light of dismal performance of our public schools today.

What about the schools in your area? Are the children learning? Or are they being indoctrinated and made to conform to standards set by people who don’t have their best interests at heart? Is it time parents insist that schools use curricula that give children a good foundation, that teach basic reading, writing, math, and history, rather than forcing a social or political agenda upon them?

Or are the children being dumbed down.

9 thoughts on “KEY: Knowledge Empowers You

    • Indeed, Kay. Lately, as I’ve seen so many concepts from that book playing out in public life…I’ve thought of reading it again. Concepts like, doublethink… doublespeak… it’s chilling.

      • I’ve been thinking of rereading it, too. And Fahrenheit 451. Like you said, it’s chilling. I can’t think of a better word for it.

        And those teachers! How can they call themselves educators and not care whether a child is learning under their tutelage? Pauline definitely had the right advice – if my kids’ teachers ever said anything like that to me, I’d be running as far and as fast as I could from that school district (and crying all the way, because my kids go to the same school I attended as a child and it’s sad to see how much things have changed in twenty years).

      • Exactly, Kay. Our children need to be protected from bad teaching methods. I just wish there was a way to counteract it…to change it and make it what it needs to be.

      • The real shame of it is that all the bad teachers out there who get all this publicity give the good teachers out there a bad name. And all the teachers, good, bad, or indifferent, are overworked and underpaid. Particularly in the lower grades, I think a lot of them are asked to do too much with too little. But then by the time the kids hit the upper grades, there’s not a lot that can be done to counteract years of bad educational experiences. It’s enough to make me want to homeschool my kids, except that I’m a horrible teacher and I don’t have the patience or the skills necessary to do the job creditably.

      • You’re exactly right, Kay. We had a lot of wonderful teachers through the years, and I appreciated each of them. And we’ve also known families who homeschooled, and I was absolutely blown away by how intelligent, informed, and personable the children were. If you do make that decision, there are so many resources available now to assist you.

Leave a Reply

