Writing…again

Georgia Guidestones

Image copyright SeanPavonePhoto, via BigStockPhoto

Some writers plot. Some don’t. I happen to belong to the latter category.

When I begin a novel, sometimes I have a vague impression of where I’d like it to go. At other times, not so much.

And another thing. Some writers can determine what they will write. Like, they may decide, “THIS time, I’m gonna write a romance.” Wish I could do that. When I started tappa-tapping the keys a couple of weeks ago, I DID decide I was gonna write a romance. Unfortunately for me, my fingers didn’t get the message.

Now, I’m several thousand words into what promises to be yet another thriller: Scribbles II, sequel to Scribbles.

Have you ever heard of the Georgia Guidestones? AKA, American Stonehenge? When I learned about them a couple of years ago, they crept into the novel I was writing at the time…but they didn’t fit. Red pencil time. I cut them because they didn’t fit that story. But I saved what I’d written about them, thinking one day, some day, maybe, they’d be part of another story.

So. When I started typing recently, expecting a romance to magically appear on my computer monitor, imagine my surprise when I saw the indicators that the Georgia Guidestones were on the horizon in the developing story.

Oh, well. I suppose I have to bow to the inevitable. This story is gonna write itself, and apparently, those granite blocks standing on end in Elbert County, Georgia, with their creepy engraved message, will be part of it.

Let the tappa-tapping continue.

11 thoughts on “Writing…again

  1. Last time I started a new project, it was supposed to be a short story. Before I knew what had happened, it had decided to be a novel instead. I’ve already got two of those in various stages of completion – I didn’t want to add a third to the list! 😀

    • I can understand that, Kay. A few years back, my writing mentor issued a challenge to our writers group: write a 20K word novella, either romance or mystery/suspense, and she gave us a deadline. Piece o’ cake, right? But when I finished it, two beta readers said it needed to be expanded to novel size. Yikes! I already had another project going. So. I ended up with too many stories tugging at me…including my novella, Tugger’s Down (which is now a novel, by the the way). Not fun.

      • That sounds terribly familiar. I used to not have any trouble keeping at one project till it was finished and it would only take me a matter of months…Then life happened: now it takes me a heck of a lot longer than I’d like to finish something (something I’m trying to change) and the ideas won’t leave me alone. I started a short story yesterday on my lunch break and was suddenly overcome with deja vu, convinced I’d already started it once as a blog post. I searched my phone, my tablet, my computer – no luck. A vivid dream, perhaps? 🙂

        I guess it’s a good thing I don’t scare easily because this writing lark is not for the faint of heart. 😉

    • Cool on being able to plot, wish I could! I’ve tried it, even bought a plotting how-to book…but alas, my mind just goes blank. But you’re right, a new story is exciting! Can’t wait to see what happens!

Leave a Reply

