HyVee

Image by Tommie Lyn

I must say that blogging per schedule (i.e., having to churn out blog posts whether or not you have something to say) is wearing. Why is it that exciting topics hide when I’m ready to write, and others find them and beat me to it?

Plus, at this moment in time, my focus is on current events…which is a no-no in blogland (unless you’re a political writer, which I’m not).

The only other option, when your mind’s empty of possible topics, is writing posts about writing. Also a no-no, since other writers are the only ones likely to have an interest in reading them, and far better writers than moi cover writing topics much better than I.

That reduces me to digging up topics that no one, not even me, have an interest in reading or writing. For instance, I could talk about my addiction to working jigsaw puzzles (yawn!).Or maybe, a post about another addiction…Extra Dessert Delights Sugar-free Apple Pie Gum (yum, yum!).

Or…say…how about a post about…HyVee Supermarket? YAY!

Hubby and I made a trip to North Dakota this summer (part of his bucket list…he’d been in every state except North Dakota and Alaska and wanted to tick them off his list. Guess where we’ll be going next year?)

On the way, we needed some things and stopped at a supermarket in Kansas City, Missouri…a supermarket we’d never seen or heard tell of…HyVee Supermarket.

First of all, let me say, we were intrigued by the name, because, when one of our grandsons was small, he could never wrap his mind (or tongue) around the fact that hubby’s RV was, well, an RV. He called it a “high vee.” And here was a supermarket by that name. (An omen of what was to come, that this place was special? Indeed!)

But what bowled us over was the store itself. HyVee stores are employee-owned, and it shows the minute you walk inside. It’s clean, the staff is friendly and glad to see you, and the selection is amazing.

I walked in the door…and fell in love.

There were so many things to choose from, we spent more time in the store than we’d intended, just marveling at everything. Plus, they have restaurants in the store and a salad bar that is incredible. (Hubby got a fruit salad assortment and I got a tossed salad…never had a fresher, better-tasting salad, even the ones I make at home.)

Suffice it to say, I will pine for HyVee until, by some small chance, the HyVee company decides they ought to build a store in the Florida panhandle. Sigh…

What about you…do you have a favorite place to go grocery shopping?

13 thoughts on “HyVee

  1. As I was reading this, HyVee’s ad slogan from the ’90s popped into my head: “Where there’s a helpful smile in every aisle.” It was a catchy little jingle they played at the end of all their commercials when I was growing up.

    Isn’t it funny how we take regional grocery store chains for granted? I tend to forget that things like HyVee and Fareway and Casey’s (a convenience store chain) are things you find mostly in the Midwest. Meanwhile, I’ve heard of 7-Eleven, but I’ve never actually seen one because they don’t exist around here.

      • Nope, we don’t have that, either! As a matter of fact, I haven’t heard of Tom Thumb (unless you’re referring to the fairy tale character ;)). We’ve got Casey’s, Kum and Go, Pronto, and Kwik Star around here for convenience stores and for grocery stores, HyVee, Fareway, Target, and Walmart. There’s a Dahl’s down in Des Moines, but I think that’s another local one.

        My hometown is very small, so we have our own local grocery store that’s owned by a local family and not affiliated with any of the regional chains and the personal service you get is such a treat when you’re used to shopping at bigger stores that don’t do that. Fareway does a nice job with that, though – they have employees who carry your groceries out to your car and load them up for you, which can be a real lifesaver sometimes. 🙂

      • I remember seeing some of the ones you mentioned. I guess each area has stores specific to the location. Anyway, I was delighted with HyVee and wish there was one nearby.

  2. For me, it was PIggly Wiggly. I’d never seen or heard of it. Just the name… LOL! But not one here in Houston, so I shop at Krogers. Um, I blogged about jigsaw puzzles. LOLOL! But I’m a blogger in search of a third blog day topic. Just can’t seem to come up with a meme for my Wed.

    • Uh oh…I missed seeing your post about jigsaw puzzles. Oh, well, there goes another topic out the window, LOL.

      And about Piggly Wiggly, we used to shop there occasionally until our local Piggly Wiggly closed. And then our Delchamps closed. And then Food World went. I’m hoping that our Winn-Dixie will stay strong, or all we’ll have left is Publix and Walmart…sigh.

      • Love your post about jigsaws! Hubby made us a 3 X 4 ft. puzzle board from plywood with a quarter-round edge attached (to keep pieces from accidentally being brushed off the table), and we’ve worked some huge puzzles on it that took weeks to put together. (Like you, I’ve learned to limit myself to just a little time each day…otherwise, I’ve have been consumed with it and spent my waking hours working on it.)

      • I kind of quite doing puzzles because our cat would go after the pieces, but it was really fun to do the little puzzles. I keep checking to see if they have anymore of the little ones. That’s cool what your hubby did!

Leave a Reply

