…about squirrels.

Image © Jeff Jones via stock.xchng

I’m a noted squirrel chaser. When there’s a task to be done, I’m easily distracted and off chasing squirrels at a moment’s notice. And today, it happened again.

My current task required some research about horses, and I wound up on YouTube watching videos of Friesian horses. I’d never seen or heard tell of these gorgeous animals, and was totally wowed by them. Ended up spending over an hour watching videos of Friesians…and not just Friesians, either. One squirrel led to another, and I was clicking on videos of Arabian horses and Gypsy stallions, you name it, I was enthralled with the beautiful animals.

You see, when I was a child, I went through a “horse crazy” stage. I read every book written by Walter Farley (the “Black Stallion” series) and Mary O’Hara (the series that started with “My Friend Flicka”), and any other book I could find about horses. And it looks like I never got over that.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PBGWooBiip0&

I’m just thankful that we didn’t have YouTube back then, I would have stayed absorbed watching videos about my favorite animals.

What about you? Do “squirrels” get in your way sometimes?


17 thoughts on “…about squirrels.

  1. I can relate to this! I didn’t know that I like to chase squirrels until you told me about this. 🙂 This is much better than getting chased by the little critters.

  2. LOL! Now I know I chase squirrels, too. Horse are gorgeous! When I was in high school, my dad bought us an Appaloosa to ride. Did you ever read Airs Above the Ground by Mary Stewart. I’m trying to remember what the horse were called in the book. They danced though. Their was a Disney movie about them, too, if I’m recalling right. Austria. Leip-something? My brain isn’t working this morning.

    • Oh, yes! Loved that movie about the Lipizzans! I don’t remember if I read the book…I’ll have to correct that oversight. Thanks for reminding me of it. And, oh my, how blessed you were to have a horse…I would have been ecstatic.

      • The Disney movie was about their escape from the advancing Germans, but the book is a romantic suspense. Very fun book, though. I love all of Mary Stewart’s books. Yeah, I grew up in Northern Wyoming, so we ended up having several horses. It was great fun. I had a friend that barrel raced, but I never did any of that. My favorite memories are of riding in the mountains with my dad. He’d hunted and fished all over them and had great stories to tell as we rode along.

  3. Pingback: It could have been a horror movie when… « Diana Beebe Writes

  4. Loved your story, we have squirrels just like that one on our yard. The picture of the horse took me back to childhood I loved Anna Sewell’s Black Bueaty and als watched the TV series. Thank you for sharing this Tommie.

    • Glad you enjoyed the post. “Black Beauty” was the first “big” book I read (I think I was seven when I received it, and I still have that worn copy), and it started my love of horses.

  5. Pingback: It could have been a horror movie when… | Diana Beebe's Blog

Leave a Reply

